Programme Participants Register How to get to CMS CMS/DPMMS

Conference on the Birch and Swinnerton-Dyer conjecture

DPMMS, Cambridge, May 4-6, 2011
Supported by the Royal Society and the London Mathematical Society

Invited participants

Manjul Bhargava (Princeton)      Minhyong Kim (London)      Ramdorai Sujatha (Mumbai)
Bryan Birch (Oxford)      Victor Rotger (Barcelona)      Peter Swinnerton-Dyer (Cambridge)
Mirela Çiperiani (Austin)      Karl Rubin (Irvine)      John Tate (Austin)
John Cremona (Warwick)      Peter Schneider (Münster)      Christian Wuthrich (Nottingham)
Henri Darmon (Montreal)      Samir Siksek (Warwick)      Don Zagier (Bonn/Paris) K
Vladimir Dokchitser (Cambridge)      Christopher Skinner (Princeton)
Roger Heath-Brown (Oxford)      William Stein (Seattle)

K Kavli centre only    

The conference marks the 50th anniversary of the Birch-Swinnerton-Dyer Conjecture and aims both to explain the state of our knowledge and to reflect on the modern approaches to the conjecture and related problems. It is linked to a Royal Society Kavli Centre workshop on May 2-3 on the same topic, but while the workshop is limited to 20 participants due to the Royal Society restrictions and is fully booked, the conference is open for everyone to attend.

Scientific programme

The talks will take place in MR2, Centre for Mathematical Sciences (CMS)
12:30 Registration opens (CMS central core)
13:25 Welcome (MR2)
13:30-14:30 Bryan Birch, Peter Swinnerton-Dyer
How it happened
15:00-16:00 John Cremona
Numerical evidence for the Birch Swinnerton-Dyer Conjecture
16:30-17:30 John Tate
Old thoughts on elliptic curves, BSD, and algebraic cycles
9:00-10:00 Manjul Bhargava
The average rank of elliptic curves
10:30-11:30 Roger Heath-Brown
Counting rational points on cubic curves
13:30-14:30 Vladimir Dokchitser
Parity of ranks of elliptic curves
15:00-16:00 Karl Rubin
Selmer ranks of elliptic curves in families of twists
16:30-17:30 Mirela Çiperiani
The divisibility of the Tate-Shafarevich group of elliptic curves in the Weil-Chatelet group
9:00-10:00 Victor Rotger
Iterated integrals of modular forms and rational points on elliptic curves
10:30-11:30 Henri Darmon
Diagonal cycles and Euler systems for real quadratic fields
13:30-14:30 William Stein
Kolyvagin's conjecture for specific higher rank elliptic curves
15:00-16:00 Samir Siksek
Mordell-Weil generators for cubic surfaces

Minhyong Kim's talk Diophantine geometry and non-abelian duality at the Kavli Centre


Kalyan Banerjee (Liverpool, graduate)      Francesca Gala (Orsay, graduate)      Karl Rubin (Irvine)
Barinder Banwait (Warwick, graduate)      Aaron Greicius (Berlin)      Hooman Safi (Cheltenham, graduate)
Monique van Beek (Cambridge, graduate)      Bill Hart (Warwick)      Mohamed Saidi (Exeter)
Laurent Berger (Lyon)      Roger Heath-Brown (Oxford)      Edward Sanders (London, graduate)
Manjul Bhargava (Princeton)      Harald Helfgott (Bristol/Paris)      Shu Sasaki (London)
Bryan Birch (Oxford)      David Holmes (Warwick, graduate)      René Scheider (Regensburg, graduate)
Saikat Biswas (Florida, graduate)      Andreas Holmstrom (Bordeaux)      Peter Schneider (Münster)
Julio Brau (Cambridge, graduate)      Dimitar Jetchev (Lausanne)      Tony Scholl (Cambridge)
Martin Bright (Warwick)      Christian Johanssen (London, graduate)      Gianluigi Sechi (Rome)
Cecilia Busuioc (London)      Henri Johnston (Cambridge)      Samir Siksek (Warwick)
Kevin Buzzard (London)      Stefan Keil (Berlin, graduate)      Christopher Skinner (Princeton)
Alberto Cámara (Nottingham, graduate)      Timo Keller (Regensburg, graduate)      Chris Smyth (Edinburgh)
Philip Candelas (Oxford)      Minhyong Kim (London)      Luke Stanbra (Durham, graduate)
Ian Cassels (Cambridge)      Wansu Kim (Imperial)      William Stein (Seattle)
Daniel Macias Castillo (London, graduate)      Remke Kloosterman (Berlin)      Peter Stevenhagen (Leiden)
Hugo Castillo (London, graduate)      Michiel Kosters (Leiden, graduate)      Marco Streng (Warwick)
Wouter Castryck (Leuven)      Joan-C. Lario (Barcelona)      Ramdorai Sujatha (Mumbai)
Hi-joon Chae (Seoul/London)      Alan Lauder (Oxford)      Peter Swinnerton-Dyer (Cambridge)
Mirela Çiperiani (Austin)      Chern-Yang Lee (Nottingham)      John Tate (Austin)
John Coates (Cambridge)      Antonio Lei (Melbourne)      John Thompson (Cambridge)
Pierre Colmez (Paris)      David Loeffler (Warwick)      Jack Thorne (Harvard, graduate)
Daniel Coray (Geneva)      Daniel Loughran (Bristol, graduate)      Burt Totaro (Cambridge)
David Mendes da Costa (Bristol, graduate)      Serge Matsoukis (Paris)      Konstantinos Tsaltas (Sheffield, graduate)
John Cremona (Warwick)      Keith McCabe (Durham, graduate)      Kiminori Tsukazaki (Warwick, graduate)
Andrzej Dąbrowski (Szczecin)      Robert Miller (Berkeley)      Charlie Turner (Warwick, graduate)
Henri Darmon (Montreal)      Victor Miller (Princeton)      Carlos de Vera (Barcelona, graduate)
Mohammad Dashtpeyma (Regensburg, graduate)      Santiago Molina (Bielefeld)      Charles Vial (Cambridge)
Tim Dokchitser (Cambridge/Bristol)      Michael Mourao (Warwick, graduate)      George Walker (Bristol)
Vladimir Dokchitser (Cambridge)      Filip Najman (Leiden)      Jamie Weigandt (Berkeley, graduate)
Scott Dudley (London)      James Newton (London/Cambridge)      Coline Wiatrowski (Lyon, graduate)
Tim Eardley (Sheffield, graduate)      Rachel Newton (Cambridge, graduate)      Nicholas Williams (Exeter, graduate)
Sandra Eisenreich (Regensburg, graduate)      Jeanine van Order (Lausanne)      Christian Wuthrich (Nottingham)
Carl Eriksson (Harvard, graduate)      Xenia de la Ossa (Oxford)      Jae-Hyun Yang (Bonn)
Shabieh Farwa (Sheffield)      Yoon Kyung Park (Pohang)      Teruyoshi Yoshida (Cambridge)
Andrea Ferraguti (Milan, graduate)      Richard Pinch (HMG)      Hoseog Yu (Sejong)
Tom Fisher (Cambridge)      Soma Purkait (Warwick, graduate)      Sarah Zerbes (Exeter)
Francesc Fité (Barcelona)      Giovanni Rosso (Paris/Leuven, graduate)      Jingwei Zhao (Karlsruhe, graduate)
Wojciech Gajda (Poznań)      Victor Rotger (Barcelona)      Michał Zydor (Paris, graduate)

Pictures from the Kavli Centre (zip 300MB) and the Cambridge conference (zip 150MB) by William Stein, Tim Dokchitser, John Cremona and Andrzej Dąbrowski.

We are very grateful to everyone who made this conference possible: the Royal Society, the London Mathematical Society and DPMMS for their generous support, and Andrew Aitchison, Julio Brau, Rachel Camina, Vladimir Dokchitser, Tom Fisher, Andrew Glass, Henri Johnston, Imre Leader, Vicky Neale, Rachel Newton, Ivan Smith, Andrew Thomason and Teruyoshi Yoshida for their help with registration, internet and accommodation for the participants. We would also like to thank all the speakers and all the participants for a very enjoyable conference.

The organisers (John Coates and Tim Dokchitser)